National League Rugby Discussion Forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > League Rugby - www.leaguerugby.co.uk > Clubhouse chat
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

IMPORTANT Remember to read the rules of the board and abide by them when posting.

Rugby codes reuniting

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
First XV regular
First XV regular

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Greg Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Rugby codes reuniting
    Posted: 12 Jan 2024 at 17:58
Is this worthy of discussion?
The talent pool for rugby players is diluted because of having two codes.
We know that the 'Union' game is in a parlous state in many countries (Britain and Australia for certain). 
I can't comment on the health of the 'League' code because I have no personal experience of it.
Would it really be so dramatic to consider and discuss bringing the game back under one code?
Clearly there would be hearty discussions about what form the 'new' code would look like:-
- 13 or 15 players;
- contested or uncontested tackles;
- line outs and scrummaging
- points awarded
What are the other significant differences between the two codes?
Will it ever happen?
Richard Lowther View Drop Down
Coaching staff
Coaching staff

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Richard Lowther Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jan 2024 at 18:40
The amateur level Rugby league code has been on a steep decline for years and clubs have stopped putting out open age teams and leagues have shrunk.

At that level there is a lot of interchange of players between the two codes, made easier by the different seasons of each. 

At the Semi pro level most clubs survive hand to mouth and suffer the same issues as their Union counterparts. 

At the top Superleague level the game is facing the IMG plan to try and revitalise it. 

At international level I'm afraid it is a farce.